JUNE 12, 2024 REGULAR BOARD MEETING

The Stanton School District Board of Directors met at 5:30 PM on Wednesday, June 12, 2024, at the Cafeteria for a regular session. President John McDonald called the meeting to order with Directors John McDonald, Cameron Lewellen, Travis Taylor and Zach Ward present. Director Amy Tibben was absent. Additional attendees present were Superintendent David Gute, and School Business Official Stephanie Burke.

PUBLIC PRESENTERS

Nishna Insurance Agency, Rhett Goy, was present. He presented renewal rates for FY2025.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion by Ward to approve the agenda, second by Taylor. All in favor. Motion passed.

CONSENT AGENDA

Motion by Ward, second by Lewellen to approve consent agenda of past minutes, reports and bills. Yes: Lewellen, Taylor, Ward. McDonald abstained from the vote due to the hiring of James McDonald for temporary summer mowing. Motion passed.

Under personnel, the Board approved the following resignations: Veronica Ramos as Paraeducator, Tawn McCollum as Dishwasher/Kitchen Assistant, Dave Snyder as Co-Senior Class Sponsor, Shawna Olson as Paraeducator, and Jennifer French as Paraeducator and Van Route Driver. The Board approved the hiring of Mitch Rew and James McDonald for temporary summer mowing, Kaitlin Allen for .5 Title I Reading Teacher effective 24-25 school year, James McDaniel as Assistant Custodian, and Thomas Bates as Bus Route Driver effective 24-25 school year.

SUPERINTENDENT UPDATE

Superintendent Gute gave an update on the progress of the construction projects.

PRINCIPAL UPDATE

An update by Principal Elwood was distributed. It reported on PTSO, Booster Club and student activities. The following fundraisers were approved: Class of 2026 selling sundaes at the summer concert series, and a Softball fundraiser selling clothing items through Danco with a percentage of the shirt sales going to the Softball account. Mr. Lantz is working with students and families to do fundraising for the Southwest Iowa Honor Marching Band to help costs of the trip.

NEW BUSINESS

Motion by Ward to approve Green Hills AEA English Learner Virtual Supports and Services Agreement for 2024-2025, second by Taylor. All in favor. Motion passed.

Quotes for environmental sensors were reviewed. Quotes received were from Embark in the amount of \$6,058.76, and from Heartland Business Systems in the amount of \$10,665.61.

Motion by Lewellen to approve quote from Embark in the amount of \$6,058.76 for environmental detection sensors, second by Taylor. All in favor. Motion passed.

Quotes for carpet in four hallways were reviewed. Quotes received were from J&A Flooring in the amount of \$25,517.25, and from Midwest Floor Covering in the amount of \$31,851.

Motion by Lewellen to approve quote from J&A Flooring in the amount of \$25,517.25, second by Ward. All in favor. Motion passed.

Motion by Ward to approve summer mowing at \$14/hr, summer mowing assistant at \$12/hr, and summer custodian at \$13/hr, and teacher substitute pay in the amount of \$135/day for 24-25 school year, second

by Lewellen. Yes: Lewellen, Taylor, Ward. Director McDonald abstained from the vote due to James McDonald being hired as the assistant mower. Motion passed.

Motion by Ward to approve IT Incident Response Plan as presented, second by Taylor. All in favor. Motion passed.

Motion by Taylor to approve Contract Agreement with Clarinda CSD for Special Programs/Education Director for 2024-2025 School Year, second by Lewellen. All in favor. Motion passed.

Motion by Lewellen to approve Contract Agreement with Clarinda CSD for Shared Transportation Director for 2024-2025 School Year, second by Taylor. All in favor. Motion passed.

Motion by Ward to approve a 3% salary increase for Principal Elwood and Superintendent David Gute for 2024-2025, second by Taylor. All in favor. Motion passed.

Motion by Taylor to approve Superintendent Contract with David Gute for a three-year term commencing on July 1, 2024, and Principal Contract with Katie Elwood for a two-year term commencing on August 1, 2024, second by Lewellen. All in favor. Motion passed.

Motion by Lewellen to approve Superintendent Sharing Agreement with Fremont-Mills CSD for 2024-2025, second by Ward. All in favor. Motion passed. The sharing agreement will be 50% time.

Motion by Taylor to remove Christi Elwood from the school's bank accounts and add Jennifer French to school bank accounts authorized by Administration, second by Ward. All in favor. Motion passed.

Motion to approve Resolution FY24 Protective and Safety Equipment by Ward, second by Lewellen and read as follows:

WHEREAS, participation in extracurricular athletics furthers the skills, development, character and growth of our students, and

WHEREAS, safety of our student athletes is a paramount importance to the District, and

WHEREAS, Student Activity Funds are insufficient to cover the costs of protective and safety equipment required by the Athletic Associations for students participating in those activities

WHEREAS, the Iowa Legislature authorizes school boards to transfer funds from the General Fund to the Student Activity Fund for these purposes.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

That the Board of Directors of the Stanton Community School District approves the transfer of \$9,510 from the General Fund to the Student Activity Fund for expenditures that occurred between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024 for purchases of protective and safety equipment required for extracurricular athletics. All in favor. Motion passed.

Motion by Ward to direct Stephanie Burke to pay any FY 2024 outstanding bills, second by Taylor. All in favor. Motion passed. Bills will be brought forth to the Board in July, 2024.

Motion by Ward to approve Master Contract for 2024-2026, second by Taylor. All in favor. Motion passed.

Motion by Lewellen to approve insurance renewal as presented in the total amount of \$95,393.61, second by Taylor. All in favor. Motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT

President McDonald adjourned the meeting at 6:45 p.m. The next regular meeting for the Board is scheduled for July 10, 2024, at 5:30 PM in the Cafeteria.

John McDonald, President

Stephanie Burke, School Business Official & Board Secretary